Skip to content
Español
Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Charles Rio

State Farm® Insurance Agent Charles Rio

4.6 out of 5 average rating (22 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Donna Haas

October 25, 2023

5  out of  5 rating by Donna Haas
"Thank goodness for the professionalism and availability of Charles Rio and his exceptional team at State Farm in Ridgefield. I was overwhelmed with the complexity of an insurance claim for water and ice damage on my property. Charles patiently sat with me and explained everything. He promptly returned every phone call, text and email and answered every question I had. The best part of my experience is having a local insurance agent who genuinely cares about his clients. I will be forever grateful."

Florian Spiekermann

December 5, 2022

5  out of  5 rating by Florian Spiekermann
"In a time of automated telephone prompts and omnipresent call centers, Charles Rio offers something rare: Professional service and a compassionate and tangible person to talk to when you need it!"

dan rocco

August 11, 2022

5  out of  5 rating by dan rocco
"I’ve known charles for over 20 years and his approach to clients is straight forward, works with them to make sure they are covered properly. Shout out to Paige who has great customer service skills"

Jim Zarifis

January 29, 2022

5  out of  5 rating by Jim Zarifis
"I've been a State Farm customer for 30+ years and Charles has been our agent for ~20 years. Charles, his staff, and State Farm have been terrific in quickly handling claims and policy adjustments. I appreciate the personal service and someone that knows us over calling an 800# call center."

Joe Eltz

October 9, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Joe Eltz
"Charles has been my insurance agent for 10+ years. He is always accessible and provides excellent advice and counsel."

S Smith

September 21, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by S Smith
"Charles is always amazing and so quick. He’s our insurance guy for everything we have - highly recommend."

Christopher Curran

June 8, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Christopher Curran
"Charles Rio Insurance and Financial Services gets an A+ in my book. I have my personal cars and house insured with State Farm and the non-profit I am involved with is insured by State Farm. Charles and his entire staff have been a pleasure to work with. When a hurricane came barreling through Ridgefield and knocked a tree over onto my home, they handled my homeowner insurance claim quickly, professionally and financially to our complete satisfaction. Additionally, when my wife’s car came to an abrupt and complete stop in the middle of a deserted winding road, State Farm’s roadside assistance was there to help. It was a tough situation and thank God, no one was hurt. The saving grace was that State Farm allowed us to leave the car off to the side of road and they came and took care of towing it to the dealer saving us some valuable time. Over the years, Charles has given me great advice on insurance products and has always informed me of the least expensive options available. Our experience with State Farm has been positive from the very start. Expert service with a personal touch – Charles Rio is a Ridgefield gem! Chris and Jess Curran"

Rachel Aylor

May 4, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Rachel Aylor
"After being with Allstate for 20 years, I made the switch to State Farm and I couldn't be happier. Charles Rio is professional, courteous and responsive. I couldn't ask for a better agent."

Beth Gollogly

January 25, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by Beth Gollogly
"Charles Rio has been our insurance agent for over 15 years. During that time he has proactively been our advisor and advocate for all our insurance needs. I would highly recommend him for those seeking personal lines insurance in the Ridgefield area."

lisa stuard

January 14, 2021

5  out of  5 rating by lisa stuard
"I have been with State Farm for nearly 20 years. It is so comforting to have an agent who knows you and is there when you have a question. Charles Rio has always been prompt to email or give a call back. He also answers the phone! Both my daughter and I bought new cars as of late, his office was there to help the dealership’s process along. Great customer service!! Would not think of going anywhere else for my insurance needs."

Emma Hardiman

December 18, 2020

5  out of  5 rating by Emma Hardiman
"We have used Charles Rio at State Farm for around 8 years - they have insured our cars, old home and new home, and our business - and now our children are insuring their homes with them. A phone call or email and they quickly take care of everything and clearly explain our options. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Charles and his team."

Lisa Tancredi

November 23, 2020

5  out of  5 rating by Lisa Tancredi
"Charles has always returned my calls promptly, addressed the issues I had and helped us move forward. I expected the claims process to be a nightmare, but he and Jeanne have made it easy. I'm amazed to see the negative reviews. I certainly understand the frustration with the insurance field in general. But, Charles Rio himself cannot change State Farm's underwriting decisions nor can he change CT state policy that dictates snail mail notice be given when an account is to be canceled."

Juan mogollon

October 9, 2020

5  out of  5 rating by Juan mogollon
"Nice people"

Tom Pesce

June 11, 2020

1  out of  5 rating by Tom Pesce
"I was extremely disappointed with Charles Rio and his office. Their ineptness and unethical practices led to us being uninsured for two months without any phone call, email, or explanation. After many years of using them and having several houses and cars insured with them, they completely failed us when we actually needed them. We were approved for a claim submitted over three years ago for wind and hail damage. Two years later they approved another claim due to water damage in our basement. When filing that claim, I specifically asked Jeanne Clutter beforehand if it would send up any red flags having two claims a few years apart. She assured me it would NOT. "As long as you don't have two claims in one year" is exactly what she told me. Now, apparently I should not have two claims within three years. Yet, the same company that approved it now drops me because of it? No one in this office has any expertise or knowledge of what their underwriters will accept or not accept. Six months later, I called the office to ask a question about my policy and they notified me that we were non-renewed in April (two months earlier). Jeanne said they sent a notice in January via snail mail which we never received. This practice makes no sense. It's like telling a kid she can have dessert and then taking it away once it's in their hands. Charles had nothing to offer other than an apology. This action proves that there is 0 value in using a local person like him who clearly shows little to know expertise in what he does and adds even less value in helping the customer navigate the situations you rely on insurance for in the first place. Furthermore, what local agent whom you are supposed to have a face to face relationship with, doesn't even utilize email or a phone call to contact their customer? I would never recommend State Farm to anyone I care about and I would certainly avoid being duped by Chuck Rio and Ms. Clutter. Since I put out a post on the Ridgefield pages on FB, it seems that many other people were feeling the same way about Rio's office. NO ONE recommended State Farm, and we have several friends who have been looking to leave and who are shopping for better policies. Leaving a loyal customer without insurance and a now a higher rate with other companies due to being dropped and having no coverage for two months is unconscionable. If it looks and sounds like a used car salesman, it probably is. Lesson learned. Steer clear!"

Athena L

April 16, 2020

5  out of  5 rating by Athena L
"It has always been a pleasure working with Jeannie. She is very knowledgeable and eager to help!"